Categorized | Entertainment, Movies, News, Television, US

“The Hurt Locker” Wins Best Picture, Takes Home Six Awards At 2010 Oscars

“The Hurt Locker,” a suspenseful drama about a bomb squad mechanic with an addiction to his job defusing bombs in Iraq, took home six 2010 Oscars at the 82nd Academy Awards in Hollywood Sunday night. After sitting through over three and a half hours of presentations and tributes via live broadcast on ABC Television, the last two awards were given in a hurried rush, with Best Director Kathryn Bigelow barely making it off-stage before being called back to accept a second Oscar for Best Picture. “The Hurt Locker” not only was the big winner of the night (James Cameron’s multi-billion dollar blockbuster, “Avatar,” only won three 2010 Oscars, all in technical categories), but it made history as the vehicle by which Kathryn Bigelow become the first female director in history to win the Best Director Oscar.

“The Hurt Locker” beat out nine other films for Best Picture, all of which made more money than it did at the box office ($14.6 million domestic, less than its $15 million budget). It also won best Sound Editing, Best Sound Mixing, Best Film Editing, and Mark Boal won for Best Original Screenplay. Jeremy Renner, who was nominated for Best Actor, lost his bid to Jeff Bridges, whose role as country singer Bad Blake in “Crazy Heart” had captured most of the major acting awards. “The Hurt Locker” also lost the 2010 Best Cinematography Oscar to “Avatar” and Best Original Score to Michael Giacchino for “Up.”

Besides “Avatar’s” three wins, other multiple winners for the night were the aforementioned “Crazy Heart,” “Precious,” and “Up,” each with two.

“Up” won the Best Animated Feature Film Oscar.

If nothing else, the 2010 Oscars were a night of firsts.

Besides Kathryn Bigelow’s first win (and historic first win ever for a female director), Sandra Bullock won her first Oscar for “The Blind Side,” Christolph Waltz won Best Supporting Actor, his first Oscar, for “Inglourious Basterds,” and Mo’Nique won the 2010 Oscar for Best Supporting Actress, also her first, for her role in “Prescious.” “Prescious” also won for Best Adapted Screenplay. The aforementioned Jeff Bridges and Mark Boal were also first time recipients of Oscars.

    One Response to ““The Hurt Locker” Wins Best Picture, Takes Home Six Awards At 2010 Oscars”

    1. One will also get the signature red lacquered soles and the heels which the brand flaunts above all else


    Leave a Reply

    You must be logged in to post a comment.