Categorized | News, Sports, US, World

Ladies Vie for Gold Medals on Olympic Ice Tonight

Whether you love figure skating or hockey, there will be lots of action on the ice on Thursday with the women in the Vancouver Winter Olympic Games.

Figure Skater Joannie Rochette

Joannie Rochette

First, the U.S. women’s hockey team will take on team Canada for the gold-medal game at 3:30 p.m. PT/6:30 p.m. ET.  Finland and Sweden are playing for the bronze medal at 11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET.

Then onto figure skating, the ladies take the ice Thursday evening (5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET) for their free skate.  Leading the women’s figure skating following the short program on Tuesday is Yu-Na Kim (or Kim Yu-Na), of South Korea, who earned 78.5 points (an all-time world best), according to NBC Olympics.

Behind her are medal hopefuls Mao Asada of Japan with 73.78 points, and Joannie Rochette of Canada with 71.36 points. Rochette’s performance on Tuesday was bittersweet as she bravely performed her routine just two days after her mother died of a sudden heart attack while in Vancouver.

Miki Ando of Japan is in fourth place with 64.76 points. And the U.S. figure skaters, Rachael Flatt (with 64.64 points) and Mirai Nagasu (with 63.76 points) are in fifth and sixth place.

    Leave a Reply

    You must be logged in to post a comment.